Skip to content
October 3, 2014 / Randall

The missing youth: how rigid gender roles in children’s media leave many kids out of the picture

new dress

Perhaps if I had seen examples of young gender non-conforming characters like me in some of my favorite movies or books growing up, I wouldn’t have felt so “other” and had such a hard time for so long. And perhaps if my bullies would have seen better examples of inclusive and accepting characters in their favorite stories, they wouldn’t have treated me like I was so different.

Image source and full article: http://www.glaad.org/blog/missing-youth-how-rigid-gender-roles-childrens-media-leave-many-kids-out-picture

Leave a Reply

